The Leytonstone Picture Palace

The Stone Space

The Leytonstone Picture Palace

SATURDAY 28 & SUNDAY 29 SEPTEMBER, 11.00-18.00, THE STONE SPACE

“The picture theatre supplies folks with the flavour of romance…an architectural harmony of richness and restfulness...” - Theodore Komisarjevsky, The Ideal Kinema, 1930

In 1911, The Rink Picture Palace opened at 829 Leytonstone High Road. This cinema would become a fixture of the High Road for decades. Despite the affection it was held in, Leytonstone’s cinema closed its doors for the last time in 1974, and the building (including interiors by the internationally renowned designer Theodore Komisarjevsky) was demolished.

Now, artist Dominic Stinton is paying tribute to Leytonstone’s lost picture palace by recreating it in a multimedia, multi-sensory exhibition, featuring three brand new silent films made in collaboration with artist Wang Yue, sound designer Micheal Picknett and other local artists inspired by The Rink's 1920s heyday.

Come in, grab a box of popcorn and experience The Leytonstone Picture Palace in all of its glory once again.

To accompany the installation, Stinton has curated a programme of talks and screenings at The Stone Space to contextualise and discuss the Rink's legacy and Leytonstone's cinematic heritage across the weekend.

GO BACK